OMG! I Poached an Egg! (the Julia Child way)

I’m inspired, happy and excited. Imagine me having blinking stars in my eyes (not in my head, in my eyes, ok?) as I write this post, that’s how happy I am today.

First of all, I can’t believe I’m in blogging now and people are really following this blog, liking and even commenting! and for a newbie like me, this means so much, THANK YOU VERY MUCH for the inspiration.

I’m happy and excited because I was able to POACH an EGG, finally, yay! I have tried numerous ways of cooking egg but poaching. I don’t know, but I find it hard to do and the egg seems to be bland. Until i found this post from Huffingtonpost on how to poach an egg, the Julia Child way.

All I know about poaching egg is to prepare a shallow pot with hot water, create a funnel then drop the egg in the middle. But Julia Child’s method has this extra step which makes the poaching easy.

First, Child pokes the large end of an egg with a pin to release any air that might cause the egg to crack, and then she boils the egg for exactly 10 seconds. The quick boil helps the egg retain its shape. You can totally handle this. – Huffingtonpost

In a shallow pot over medium heat, heat the water until steady bubbles appear, do not bring to boil.

Lower the heat and put the egg, let it cook for EXACTLY 10 SECONDS.

Scoop the egg from the pot and crack it into the bowl.

On the same pan where you precook the egg, create a funnel and gently slide the egg in the eye of the funnel. It will immediately look like this. (isn’t it amazing?! 🙂 )

egg5

Poach  the egg for about 3-4 minutes.

egg3

halfway through poaching

egg4

ready to be scooped in few seconds! yay!

Gently remove the egg with a slotted spoon and put in a plate.

egg6

I’m so excited I didn’t realize the plate was white 😦

Wanna see inside?!

poached egg

you see that?! so beautiful and I’m surprised that it’s not bland at all, it taste like the regular fried egg just less the grease. Yay! mission accomplished!

click here for the video

ps.

I realized that it is not easy to create a single blog post. Kudos to all bloggers for the amazing things you share to the world! 🙂

let’s eat!

Share Your Thoughts

