How To Rehydrate Ube Powder

Hi, I know it’s been a while since my last post Ube Halaya and probably I left you wondering how you can still use your ube powder in other ways.

So, for starters, let me show you how I prep my ube powder prior to its use.

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tsps ube powder
  • 1/2 cup of water

1

PROCEDURE

  1. In a saucepan, combine the ube powder and water.
  2. Turn heat on high and bring to boil while stirring. Lower the heat and stir until you reach a paste like consistency.
  3. Turn off heat and cool completely.

This will yield to 1/3 cup or 77g ube paste.

(The pictures are as is, no editing done)

7

6

8

9

 

NOTES :

How do I know when the ube is ready?

When you mix the ube with water and you dip your finger then rub with it with your other finger, you feel it’s gritty, visibly it’s watery and the powder sank at the bottom. As you cook it (stir) you will notice the powder will bind to the water and the mixture will become thick and smooth and eventually will form in paste like consistency. Don’t be afraid to test it with your clean finger or taste it once in while as you progress, it should feel smooth both in the finger and the mouth. Believe me  it tastes like boiled fresh ube.

Where will I use this?

I will use this in making cakes, cupcakes, crinkles, cheesecakes, yema, pastillas, ice cream and the list goes on. Oh, by the way, the recipe above is for my upcoming Ube Cupcake II 🙂

How do I substitute this to fresh ube?

The composition of the ube changes once you dry and powderize it. So, in my opinion, you cannot replace it with 1:1 ratio, it will surely yield to a different result. You may need to alter your recipe depending on the outcome you prefer. Also, in my experience, the quality of the brand of your ube powder can significantly affect your ending product.

Why do I prefer ube powder than store bought ube jam?

Surely you can use store bought Ube Jam in place of fresh ube but, I still prefer the powder type because, aside from the taste, I have the control on the amount of sugar (and other things) I will add  and  I find this more flexible to work with. 

What ube powder brand can I recommend?

Before you think anything else,  I just want to say that I’m just a happy customer who wants to share to the world how great and convenient their UBE is.

So obviously it’s ChemFree, their product is real, 100% ube.  See their details here.

Can I use the dehydrated powder directly to my mixture? 

This is something I’m about to try for this brand. 

I hope this helps, happy cooking  🙂

 

10 thoughts on “How To Rehydrate Ube Powder

  1. Pingback: Ube Halaya | The Sweet & Savory Side of Me

Share Your Thoughts